If you’ve recently applied for a job at a bar or liquor store, your prospective employer has most likely told you that you will be required to obtain an individual TABC (Texas Alcohol Board of Commissions) certification. The establishment can probably answer most of your questions, but just in case, here are the quick answers to some common inquiries.
Do I Have To Take a Test?
Yes, but it’s quick and simple. There are multiple online providers for the training course that covers Texas liquor sales laws. Your employer will then confirm your TABC licensing through the TABC website once you have completed the course.
How Much Does It Cost?
The course it one small payment of $8.99 for the alcohol seller-server certification. You’ll make more than that your first hour bartending; the average salary is $14.31 per hour.
Is It Required by Law?
No, but it is by nearly every business involved in the sale, serving, or transportation of alcohol. The reason for this is that it protects the employer from legal liability in the instance that an employee makes an illegal alcohol sale.
Does It Have To Be Renewed?
TABC certifications are good for two years, after which you will need to re-take the course and pay a new fee. Certifications need to be up-to-date with changing liquor laws.
Do I Have To Be 21?
You do not have to be of legal drinking age to obtain a TABC certification. The state of Texas requires you to be 18 to serve alcohol and 16 to sell alcohol in a retail setting. There is no minimum age for the licensing, however. You can take your course at any time so you have your license in order to expedite the hiring process once you are old enough for the job.
Hopefully, you have the information you need to get your certification and your new job in the high-paying alcohol industry.